Hola de Argentina!

Hola todos!!

Finally I have started this blog for those of you who are not on Facebook.  As

Adelante el campo de investigacion!

most of you already know, I am doing some work in Argentina for my Master of Range Science degree. I began the Master’s program in Jan 2010 and I chose this specific program at New Mexico State University under the direction of Dr. Andrés Cibils in order to gain a better understanding of livestock grazing behavior and extend my network to Argentina, a country which I have come to love and hope to pursue more work in the future.  My Master’s project analyzes free-ranging livestock grazing behavior across different ecotypes.  We have one site in central NM (semi-arid woodland savannah), and three sites in Argentina. The sites in Argentina include analyses in Patagonian semi-arid steppe (Bariloche, Rio Negro, AR), subtropical grassland (Corrientes, AR) and temperate grassland (pampas, Buenos Aires province, AR). Each site is located at a research ranch facility managed by INTA (Instituto Nacional Tecnología Agropecuaria), kind of like the Agriculture Research Station system in the US.

I will be working at each of the sites in Argentina, rotating through each until April.  At that time, I will end my adventure here by attending the International Rangeland Congress in Rosario, Santa Fe, Argentina, a professional organization dedicated to rangeland research across the globe.

I have been in Argentina since Jan 14th, beginning the adventure with close family friends in Buenos Aires.  After a week in BA, I traveled to beautiful mountain city Bariloche in northern Patagonia next to the Andes to assist with research sampling on the Patagonian site.  I am working out of the INTA station in Bariloche. It is a wonderful place to work and practice my Castellano! I have been living in a hostel called “El Gaucho” and it has been a fantastic place to live so far. I will try to post as many fotos as I can. Disfrutate! Enjoy!

Vanessa

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Hola de Argentina!

  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. Julietta says:

    You look lovely in that photo!

  3. Ellen grant says:

    Wow! What an adventure, Vanessa! We’re all proud of you and excited for you. Thanks for the update…keep em coming!
    Xxxx e, t, a & a

  4. Owen says:

    Hi Vanessa,

    Good to see the blog up and running. Hope you’re enjoying yourself at El Gaucho!

    -Owen

  5. Sharon says:

    I love your photos Vanessa. I’m so glad you’re having a fabulous time, while learning too! I’m enjoying tracking you on FB too.

    Keep having fun, as you always do!

    Sending my love and prayers,
    Aunt Sharon

Leave a Reply

